UnRavelled, a new play by Jake Broder

You're invited to join the Global Brain Health Institute (GBHI) and the UCSF Memory and Aging Center (MAC) in a Virtual Presentation of UnRavelled, a new play by Jake Broder!

Based on true events and incorporating research and interviews conducted by Broder as a Hellman Visiting Artist at UCSF’s Memory and Aging Center, UnRavelled explores the fascinating connection between the work of Canadian painter Anne Adams (1940–2007) and French composer Maurice Ravel (1875–1937), both of whom lived with the same rare brain disease.

View the Playbill

These two special screenings of UnRavelled are followed immediately by live events with experts in the field, including Memory and Aging Center director and GBHI co-director Dr. Bruce Miller, who diagnosed Adams:

  • Thur, Feb. 25, immediately following the virtual premiere at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET
    • Q&A featuring:
    • Moderated by Adit Friedberg, Behavioral Neurologist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health (Feb 25)
    • Followed by a dance performance directed by Magda Kaczmarska, Teaching Artist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health, with intergenerational professional dancers and guests (Feb 25)
    • Event MC: Camellia Latta, Alumni Relations Manager, GBHI
  • Wed, Mar. 3, immediately following its stream time at 9 a.m. PT / 12 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. GMT.
    • Q&A featuring:
    • Moderated by Francesca Farina, Neuroscientist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health (Mar 3)
    • Followed by a brief presentation on brain health by Nicky Taylor, Theater & Dementia Specialist, Atlantic Fellow for Equity in Brain Health, with contributions from people living with dementia (Mar 3)
    • Event MC: Camellia Latta, Alumni Relations Manager, GBHI

To register to receive a free link to view the play and to learn more about the supporting live events, go to www.UnRavelledPlay.com.

View the Live Event Presenter Biographies

The play begins streaming Thursday, Feb. 25 at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET and remains available on-demand at UnRavelledPlay.com through March 31.

UnRavelled
Written by Jake Broder
Directed by Nike Doukas

Starring Lucy Davenport, Conor Duffy, Melissa Greenspan, Leo Marks, Rob Nagle with Michael Lanahan on narrations

Production Design by Corwin Evans
Sound Design by Jeff Gardner
Production Coordinator by Bree Pavey

Presented by the Global Brain Health Institute, based at UC San Francisco and Trinity College Dublin

Wednesday, March 3 at 9:00am to 11:00am

Virtual Event
Event Type

Fun & Recreation

Affiliation

School of Medicine

Audience

Students, Postdocs, Faculty, Staff, Local Community, Alumni, Patients

Location

Online

Tags

psychiatry, neurology, geriatrics

Website

https://www.gbhi.org/unravelled

Cost

Free

Department/Group
Memory and Aging Center, UCSF Weill Institute for Neurosciences
Contact Info

carmen.hart@gbhi.org

Subscribe

Recent Activity

You're not going yet!

This event requires registration.