University of California San Francisco Give to UCSF

Latinx Heritage Month: Virtual Ofrenda 2022

Friday, October 7, 2022

+ 10 dates

  • Saturday, October 8, 2022
  • Sunday, October 9, 2022
  • Monday, October 10, 2022
  • Tuesday, October 11, 2022
  • Wednesday, October 12, 2022
  • Thursday, October 13, 2022
  • Friday, October 14, 2022
  • Saturday, October 15, 2022
  • Sunday, October 16, 2022
  • Monday, October 17, 2022

For Latinx Heritage Month 2022, we invite all members of UCSF to join the collective of Latinx organizations & the Multicultural Resource Center at UCSF in participating in our virtual ofrenda (offering) by placing an object, image, and words to dedicate to a loved one. Please honor and respect this space.

https://tinyurl.com/Ofrenda2022

More information on La Ofrenda:

"The welcoming back of the spirits is observed in households with the creation of ofrendas. The quality and degree of ornamentation of the ofrendas depend on regional traditions, family and individual wealth, recent deaths, or the year’s harvest. On the ofrenda, the main objects are symbolic of life’s elements: water, wind, fire, and earth. Water is served in a clay pitcher or glass to quench the spirit’s thirst from their long journey. Fire is signified by the candles that are lit. Wind is signified by papel picado (tissue paper cut-outs). The earth element is represented by food, usually pan de muerto (bread of the dead).  Other offerings include mole, fruit, chocolate, atole, toys, calaveritas de azúcar, and copal incense."

- Smithsonian Latino Center (2015)

Latinx Heritage Month 2022 is organized and hosted by the following organizations:

  • Society of the Advancement Chicanx and Native American Scientists
  • National Hispanic Pharmacy Association
  • Hispanic Student Dental Association
  • Chicanx Latinx Campus Association (SF & Oakland)
  • Latino Medical Student Association
  • Multicultural Resource Center

Event Details

  • Calderon-Jensen
  • Aria Wilson
  • alvaro garza
  • Laurie Solorzano

4 people are interested in this event