University of California San Francisco Give to UCSF

Latinx Heritage Month: Virtual Ofrenda 2021

Thursday, September 23, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am

+ 10 dates

  • Friday, September 24, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Saturday, September 25, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Sunday, September 26, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Monday, September 27, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Wednesday, September 29, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Thursday, September 30, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Friday, October 1, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Saturday, October 2, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
  • Sunday, October 3, 2021 12:00am to 12:00am
Add to calendar

Join the collective of Latinx organizations at UCSF in participating in our virtual ofrenda (offering) by placing an object, image, and words to dedicate to a loved one. Please honor and respect this space

September 15-October 30, 2021

https://url.com/UCSFOfrenda2021

More information on La Ofrenda:

"The welcoming back of the spirits is observed in households with the creation of ofrendas. The quality and degree of ornamentation of the ofrendas depend on regional traditions, family and individual wealth, recent deaths, or the year’s harvest. On the ofrenda, the main objects are symbolic of life’s elements: water, wind, fire, and earth. Water is served in a clay pitcher or glass to quench the spirit’s thirst from their long journey. Fire is signified by the candles that are lit. Wind is signified by papel picado (tissue paper cut-outs). The earth element is represented by food, usually pan de muerto (bread of the dead).  Other offerings include mole, fruit, chocolate, atole, toys, calaveritas de azúcar, and copal incense."- Smithsonian Latino Center (2015)

Latinx Heritage Month 2021 is hosted by the following organizations:

  • Society of the Advancement Chicanx and Native American Scientists
  • National Hispanic Pharmacy Association
  • Hispanic Student Dental Association
  • Chicanx Latinx Campuswide Association
  • Latino Medical Student Association
  • Multicultural Resource Center

Event Details

  • Vanessa Palacios

1 person is interested in this event