University of California San Francisco Give to UCSF

On behalf of the Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month Planning Committee, Multicultural Resource Center,  and LGBT Resource Center, Office of Diversity and Outreach,  we invite you all to join us for Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month (AAPIHM) and PRIDE Lecture 2023: “Together We Rise: Celebrating AAPI & LGBT Resilience” with Dr. Kevin Nadal, PhD.  The focus of this lecture will be on intersections of AAPI and LGBT history and elevate ways we can build collective hope to carry and move us forward.

UCSF Sponsors:

  • Graduate Division
    • Biomedical Sciences Program
    • Biophysics Program
    • Department of Cell and Tissue Biology 
  • United Filipinx Association (UFA) 
  • LGBTQ Committee
  • Asian Pacific American Systemwide Alliance (APASA)
  • Asian American and Pacific Islander Coaltion (AAPIC)

Thursday, June 15, 2023

Webinar: 12-1 PM

Q & A: 1-1:30 PM

Virtual | RSVP required

Webinar Registration:

Q & A Registration:

NOTE: You must register for the webinar and Q & A, if you are interested in attending both sessions. The recording of this event will be shared on ODO’s Youtube weeks after the event.

About Dr. Kevin Nadal:

Dr. Kevin Leo Yabut Nadal is Distinguished Professor of Psychology at the City University of New York. He is one of the leading researchers in understanding the impacts of microaggressions (subtle forms of discrimination) on the mental and physical health of people of color; lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) people; and other marginalized groups. He has published over 100 works on multicultural issues in the fields of psychology and education. He is the author of 14 books including Filipino American Psychology (Wiley, 2021); Microaggressions and Traumatic Stress (American Psychological Association, 2018); and Queering Law and Order (Lexington, 2020).

Dr. Nadal was the first and only openly gay President of the Asian American Psychological Association (AAPA) in its 50 year history and the first person of color to serve as the Executive Director of the Center for LGBTQ Studies in its 25 year history. He is the current President of the Filipino American National Historical Society - the youngest and first to openly identify as LGBTQ+. He co-founded the LGBTQ+ Scholars of Color National Network, the AAPA Division on Filipinx Americans, and the AAPA Division on LGBTQQ+. He has delivered hundreds of lectures across the United States, including the White House and the U.S. Capitol. He has won numerous awards, including the American Psychological Association 2017 Early Career Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology in the Public Interest; the 2019 Richard Tewksbury Award from the Western Society of Criminology; the 2019 Thought Leadership Award from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation; and the 2022 Teachers College Medal for Distinguished Service.

Event Details