University of California San Francisco Give to UCSF

19th Annual Faculty Research Lecture in Clinical Science "Computed Tomography: A Medical Triumph Fostering a Silent Epidemic”

By UCSF Imaging

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 3:30pm to 6:30pm

View map Free Event Add to calendar

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the selection of Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD, as recipient of the Nineteenth Annual Faculty Research Lectureship – Clinical Science for her Contributions to Radiology Outcomes and Comparative Effectiveness Research.


Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD



About Rebecca Smith-Bindman, MD:

Dr. Smith-Bindman’s research has focused on evaluating the accuracy, clinical impact, and appropriate use of a wide range of imaging tests. Her contributions to assessment of the accuracy and clinical impact of various imaging procedures is extensive, including ultrasound for uterine, thyroid, and kidney disease, and comparisons of the value of various modalities including mammography, ultrasound, CT, and MRI for a wide range of conditions. She led the nation in developing approaches to weighing the benefits and the risks of imaging and has brought attention to the risks of medical radiation exposure.

Dr. Smith-Bindman has published over 100 peer-reviewed publications. She has received awards for her research, including an award as one of the top publications of the National Cancer Institutes Epidemiology and Genomics Research Program and a Distinguished Investigator award from the Academy of Radiology Research. In addition to serving on numerous UCSF committees focused on creating guidelines for improved use of imaging, she has served on numerous national and international committees.

Dr. Smith-Bindman is a Professor in the Department of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging and Director of the Radiology Outcomes Research Lab at the University of California, San Francisco. She received her MD from UCSF in 1991.



Since 2001, this award has been bestowed on an individual member of the UCSF faculty with outstanding achievements in clinical research. Nominations are made by UCSF faculty, who consider the clinical research contributions of their colleagues and submit nominations for this prestigious award to the Academic Senate Committee on Research. Each year, the Committee on Research selects the recipient of this award.

A list of the past recipients of the award can be viewed here.

Event Details

  • Susan Lei

1 person is interested in this event

User Activity

No recent activity